In Florida, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services issues
licenses to carry concealed weapons or firearms to qualified individuals.
Under Section 790.06 of the Florida Statutes, a concealed firearm or weapon
includes a handgun, an electronic weapon, a knife, tear gas gun, or billie.
Under Sect. 790.06, concealed weapons licenses are valid throughout Florida
for 7 years from the date that they are issued. Whenever a licensee is
carrying their concealed weapon or firearm, they must carry the license
with them and display the license and proper identification whenever a
law enforcement officer demands to see them.
The general requirements for obtaining a license to carry a concealed weapon
or firearm, include:
- You must be 21 years-of-age or older.
- You cannot suffer from a physical disability that would prevent you from
safely handling the firearm.
You cannot be ineligible to possess a firearm under Sect. 790.23 due to
being convicted of a
You do not have a
domestic violence restraining order against you.
- You have not been committed for a substance abuse problem or found guilty
of a controlled substance crime in the 3 year period before submitting
- You do not have a drug or alcohol problem.
- You must be competent with a firearm and either completed a hunter education
or safety training course, a National Rifle Association safety training
course, or you must have completed a firearms safety training course approved
by the state.
Places You Cannot Bring a Concealed Firearm
While concealed weapons and firearms are excellent for self-defense and
for protection while you’re visiting dangerous neighborhoods, they
are not welcome everywhere, even if you are otherwise eligible and possess
a valid license.
In Florida, civilians cannot bring concealed weapons or firearms into any:
courthouse, police or sheriff station, highway patrol station, courthouse,
jail, prison, detention facility, courtroom, polling place, any school
or college, any bar or nightclub, any restaurant licensed to sell alcoholic
beverages, any airport, career center, or federal building where firearms
A willful and intentional violation of this section is a misdemeanor of
the second degree, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a fine not
to exceed $500.
If you are facing a weapon or firearms violation,
contact Thomas & Paulk, P.A. for a free case evaluation!