Were you recently arrested for
driving under the influence (DUI) in the Greater Tampa Area? If so, you probably have several questions
about convictions. Would you have to go to jail? How much would the fines
be? Would an
Ignition Interlock Device (IID) be required? Would you be required to go to
For the purposes of this post, we are going to discuss DUI School because
it applies to all drivers convicted of DUI in Florida. If you have further
questions about alcohol or
drug-related DUI charges in Hillsborough County, please don’t hesitate to reach out
to our firm for help. We gladly offer free case evaluations to all prospective
clients. Continue reading to learn more about Florida’s licensed
About DUI School in Florida
If you are facing DUI charges in Florida and you either plead guilty or
are found guilty by a court of law, you would have to go to DUI School.
To date, there are 24 licensed DUI programs in the state of Florida, which
are under the jurisdiction of the Bureau of Motorist Compliance. The Bureau
is responsible for instructor training and certification, site visits,
quality assurance, looking into complaints, handling clients’ appeals,
and evaluating the overall effectiveness of the 24 programs throughout Florida.
Are these programs actually run by the state of Florida? No, they are not.
Rather, Florida’s DUI programs are non-profit organizations. According to the
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, the DUI programs “are required to provide education, a psychosocial
evaluation and treatment referral services to DUI offenders to satisfy
judicial and driver licensing requirements.”
To shed more light on the DUI School requirements, here are some frequently
asked questions and answers about the DUI programs:
How many programs are there?
While there are 24 programs throughout the state, there are two
educational services delivered to DUI defendants: Level I is for
first-time DUI offenders, whereas Level II is for multiple DUI offenders.
How many hours are the programs?
The Level I course requires a minimum of 12 hours of classroom instruction.
The Level II course (for multiple DUI offenders) involves a minimum of
21 hours of classroom instruction.
How many students are in Level II?
In Level II, there are no more than 15 students per a class.
Which DUI program is in Hillsborough County?
In Hillsborough County, we have
DUI Counterattack Hillsborough, Inc. It’s address is: 4711 North Hubert Avenue, Tampa, FL 33614.
How much are the fees involved?
To learn more about the fees involved,
Is DUI School required for hardship reinstatement?
Yes, drivers must complete DUI School before hardship reinstatement.
Do I have to go to DUI School?
Even if you don’t drive until your revocation expires, you still
must complete DUI School in order for you to be re-licensed. You must
complete DUI School within 90 days of your license being reinstated after
the revocation, otherwise your license will be cancelled.
We hope this information helps answer some of your pressing questions about
DUI School. Continue reading to learn more about the penalties for a first
DUI in Florida.
Penalties for a First DUI in Florida
In Florida, it’s against the law to drive under the influence of
drugs or alcohol under Section 316.193 of the Florida Statutes. While
the state’s blood alcohol content (BAC) limit is .08% for drivers
21 and older, in reality anyone can be arrested and charged with DUI with
less alcohol in their system. All the state has to do to convict someone
of DUI with a low BAC is prove that their ability to drive safely was
impaired by alcohol.
Penalties for a First DUI
- Community service
- A fine ranging between $500 and $2,000
- Up to 9 months in jail
- Up to one year driver’s license revocation
- Must complete DUI School for hardship reinstatement
If you are facing DUI charges in Tampa or anywhere else in Hillsborough County,
contact Thomas & Paulk, P.A. for a free, confidential case evaluation. Our
team of former prosecutors stand ready to provide you with a