DUI School in Tampa, Florida
When found convicted of drunken driving in the state of Florida, there
penalties that you may find yourself facing. For example, you may be required to
pay monetary fines or may be imprisoned. You may have insurance rates
skyrocket or have your license suspended. One penalty, however, that many
people are unaware about is that of attendance of a DUI school. These
are overseen by the Bureau of Motorist Compliance and DUI programs; this
oversight primarily focuses on instructor certification, as well as training
and any complaints that need investigation. Other areas include client
appeals, site visits and more.
So what is the purpose of DUI school?
Primarily, they are done to "satisfy judicial and driver licensing
requirements." This is done through education of the defendant, as
well as psychosocial evaluation and treatment referral. There are 26 licensed
programs; currently, in Hillsborough County, the licensed program is DUI
Counterattack, Hillsborough, Inc. which can be found at
drivesafetampa.org. Incorporated in 1971, it is their mission to help reduce the numbers
of repeat offenders. They offer the two educational services which are
required by the Florida DHSMV.
The two education services include the following:
Level I - This is reserved for first time offenders. Per the DHSMV, this consists
of 12 hours of classroom instruction; typically, it involves didactic
and interactive techniques.
Level II - This is for multiple DUI offenders. Unlike Level I, it consists of 21
hours of classroom time in a group setting. Often, it will focus on the
problems that plague habitual offenders, as well as getting students ready
It is important to recognize that DUI school is not rehabilitation or treatment.
In many cases, the students at DUI schools will be referred to treatment
or may be required to attend, but attending DUI school will not qualify
to having satisfied this element of a penalty. Rehabilitation will focus
on physical examinations and helping attendees to detox and move forward
in their life. DUI school is focused simply on education.
Do I have to go to DUI school?
In many cases, DUI school is required if you are interested in applying
for a hardship license after losing your right to drive. For a first time
conviction, you will be required to complete DUI school before a hardship
reinstatement. If you do not apply early and instead wait through the
entire revocation, it is only required that you show proof that you enrolled
in the class or that you completed it. If you fail to complete the class
within 90 days of reinstatement, you may have your license cancelled until
you complete school. For a second conviction within five years of a third
conviction within ten years, you will again need to complete DUI school.
The same goes for charges of
DUI manslaughter and reckless driving.
Get in Touch with Thomas & Paulk, P.A.
If you are facing a DUI charge, it is extremely important that no time
is wasted in getting the involvement of a lawyer who you trust to fight
for you. At our
Tampa DUI firm, we have experienced countless cases involving clients who faced DUI charges.
We know that DUI school-like all of the other potential penalties-can
be extremely inconvenient. For this reason, it is important that no time
is wasted in getting the involvement of a knowledgeable
Tampa defense lawyer from our firm as soon as possible. We know what is at stake and will do
everything possible to provide our clients with the aggressive help that