Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
Penalties for Drinking & Driving in Tampa
DUI penalties are done to punish. Others are done to educate and prevent future offenses.
One of the penalties designed to help limit habitual repeat offenders
is known as the ignition interlock device (IID). This is basically a small
machine the size of a cell phone which is installed into the engine of
a vehicle. The purpose is simple - to not allow someone to get behind
the wheel while drunk. How does it accomplish that? Simply by requiring a
breath test any time someone goes to start the vehicle. The threshold for
BAL is set at 0.05 percent; if the breath sample is below this threshold,
the vehicle will start. If, however, the blood alcohol level of the breath
sample is above 0.05 percent, the vehicle will simply sit idly.
There are also several safeguards put into place to help cut down on the
possibility of the driver having a friend provide the breath sample before
driving away. While driving, the device will require several "rolling
tests" at random unannounced intervals. If a clean sample is provided,
there will be no issues. If a sample is given that has too high of BAC,
the device will set off an alarm (lights, noise, etc.) that will not stop
until the car is pulled over to a safe area and the engine cut off. Any
time a sample is given with too high of a BAC, the event will be recorded
and printed out for the proper authorities to look over and deal with
Will I need to have an IID installed in my car?
According to Florida Statutes §316.193, ignition interlock devices
are required to be installed in the vehicles of certain individuals who
are convicted of a DUI. For someone convicted of a first time conviction,
it may be required if court ordered. If the BAC was over 0.15 at the time
of the arrest or if there was a minor in the car, it will be required
for at least six months. For a second DUI conviction, it will be required
for at least a year, unless BAC was over 0.15 percent or if there was
a minor in the car - in those cases, it will be installed for at least
two years. For a third conviction, it will be required for at least two
years. For a fourth or subsequent conviction, it will be required for
at least five years with the condition of a hardship license.
In Hillsborough County, the IID vendor which has been selected by the department is
Alcohol Countermeasure Systems Corp. which works with Alcolock products. It is important to note that the installation
of an ignition interlock device does not only go into one car - it must
go into every single car that is either solely or jointly owned or leased
by the convicted. It is also
completely user-funded, meaning that you will need to foot the entire bill.
How much exactly will it cost?
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) notes
that the costs that the defendant will absorb include the following:
- Interlock Fee - $12
- Installation - $75
- Monthly Monitoring / Calibration - $72.50
- Refundable Deposit - $100 or Monthly Insurance Charge - $5
If you are unable to afford this, there are certain situations where the
court may allow for a portion of your fine to pay for the installation
and maintenance of the device. If you have questions about the installation
of an IID in your vehicle or if you would like to discuss your case with
a knowledgeable Tampa DUI defense attorney,
contact Thomas & Paulk, P.A. today.