DUIs and Repeat Offenders

According to the National Department of Transportation, about one-third of all DUI suspects that are arrested are repeat offenders. This means that they have been arrested and punished for a DUI in the past as well. Because DUI offenders are common in Florida, the state has taken precautions to punish these people severely. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles declares that those who are arrested for a second time can be sent to prison for up to 0 months and fined between $1,000 and $2,000. As well, these repeat offenders can be sure that they will lose their license for up to five years if they have been arrested for a DUI within 5 years prior to the offense. Offenders are also required to take a DUI school course and may be forced to attend an Alcoholics Anonymous class.

When it comes to a third offense, the law will impose extremely harsh sentences. Three-time DUI offenders are required to spend at least 30 days in jails and can be forced to spend up to one year behind bars. There are also fines which can amount to $5,000 in some circumstances. Once an offender reaches a fourth conviction, he or she can be sent to prison for up to five years and registered as a habitual or violent offender. Regardless of whether or not the DUIs were of drugs or alcohol, they will all count as an offense.

The state of Florida hopes that by putting these harsh punishments in place, they will be able to show people how important it is to obey DUI laws and avoid drinking and driving. In some cases, DUI repeat offenders can have previous charges erased from their record if they abstain from another conviction within 10 years. If you are arrested for a subsequent DUI, then you will need a Tampa DUI attorney to help. Contact a lawyer at Thomas & Paulk today for more information!