Concealed Weapons Aren't Allowed in These Places

In Florida, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services issues licenses to carry concealed weapons or firearms to qualified individuals. Under Section 790.06 of the Florida Statutes, a concealed firearm or weapon includes a handgun, an electronic weapon, a knife, tear gas gun, or billie.

Under Sect. 790.06, concealed weapons licenses are valid throughout Florida for 7 years from the date that they are issued. Whenever a licensee is carrying their concealed weapon or firearm, they must carry the license with them and display the license and proper identification whenever a law enforcement officer demands to see them.

The general requirements for obtaining a license to carry a concealed weapon or firearm, include:

  • You must be 21 years-of-age or older.
  • You cannot suffer from a physical disability that would prevent you from safely handling the firearm.
  • You cannot be ineligible to possess a firearm under Sect. 790.23 due to being convicted of a felony.
  • You do not have a domestic violence restraining order against you.
  • You have not been committed for a substance abuse problem or found guilty of a controlled substance crime in the 3 year period before submitting your application.
  • You do not have a drug or alcohol problem.
  • You must be competent with a firearm and either completed a hunter education or safety training course, a National Rifle Association safety training course, or you must have completed a firearms safety training course approved by the state.

Places You Cannot Bring a Concealed Firearm

While concealed weapons and firearms are excellent for self-defense and for protection while you’re visiting dangerous neighborhoods, they are not welcome everywhere, even if you are otherwise eligible and possess a valid license.

In Florida, civilians cannot bring concealed weapons or firearms into any: courthouse, police or sheriff station, highway patrol station, courthouse, jail, prison, detention facility, courtroom, polling place, any school or college, any bar or nightclub, any restaurant licensed to sell alcoholic beverages, any airport, career center, or federal building where firearms are prohibited.

A willful and intentional violation of this section is a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a fine not to exceed $500.

If you are facing a weapon or firearms violation, contact Thomas & Paulk, P.A. for a free case evaluation!