Were you recently arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in the Greater Tampa Area? If so, you probably have several questions about convictions. Would you have to go to jail? How much would the fines be? Would an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) be required? Would you be required to go to DUI School?
For the purposes of this post, we are going to discuss DUI School because it applies to all drivers convicted of DUI in Florida. If you have further questions about alcohol or drug-related DUI charges in Hillsborough County, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our firm for help. We gladly offer free case evaluations to all prospective clients. Continue reading to learn more about Florida’s licensed DUI programs.
About DUI School in Florida
If you are facing DUI charges in Florida and you either plead guilty or are found guilty by a court of law, you would have to go to DUI School. To date, there are 24 licensed DUI programs in the state of Florida, which are under the jurisdiction of the Bureau of Motorist Compliance. The Bureau is responsible for instructor training and certification, site visits, quality assurance, looking into complaints, handling clients’ appeals, and evaluating the overall effectiveness of the 24 programs throughout Florida.
Are these programs actually run by the state of Florida? No, they are not. Rather, Florida’s DUI programs are non-profit organizations. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, the DUI programs “are required to provide education, a psychosocial evaluation and treatment referral services to DUI offenders to satisfy judicial and driver licensing requirements.”
To shed more light on the DUI School requirements, here are some frequently asked questions and answers about the DUI programs:
How many programs are there?
While there are 24 programs throughout the state, there are two educational services delivered to DUI defendants: Level I is for first-time DUI offenders, whereas Level II is for multiple DUI offenders.
How many hours are the programs?
The Level I course requires a minimum of 12 hours of classroom instruction. The Level II course (for multiple DUI offenders) involves a minimum of 21 hours of classroom instruction.
How many students are in Level II?
In Level II, there are no more than 15 students per a class.
Which DUI program is in Hillsborough County?
In Hillsborough County, we have DUI Counterattack Hillsborough, Inc. It’s address is: 4711 North Hubert Avenue, Tampa, FL 33614.
How much are the fees involved?
To learn more about the fees involved, click here.
Is DUI School required for hardship reinstatement?
Yes, drivers must complete DUI School before hardship reinstatement.
Do I have to go to DUI School?
Even if you don’t drive until your revocation expires, you still must complete DUI School in order for you to be re-licensed. You must complete DUI School within 90 days of your license being reinstated after the revocation, otherwise your license will be cancelled.
We hope this information helps answer some of your pressing questions about DUI School. Continue reading to learn more about the penalties for a first DUI in Florida.
Penalties for a First DUI in Florida
In Florida, it’s against the law to drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol under Section 316.193 of the Florida Statutes. While the state’s blood alcohol content (BAC) limit is .08% for drivers 21 and older, in reality anyone can be arrested and charged with DUI with less alcohol in their system. All the state has to do to convict someone of DUI with a low BAC is prove that their ability to drive safely was impaired by alcohol.
Penalties for a First DUI
- Community service
- A fine ranging between $500 and $2,000
- Up to 9 months in jail
- Up to one year driver’s license revocation
- Must complete DUI School for hardship reinstatement
If you are facing DUI charges in Tampa or anywhere else in Hillsborough County, contact Thomas & Paulk, P.A. for a free, confidential case evaluation. Our team of former prosecutors stand ready to provide you with a hard-hitting defense!